Celebrating its 10th year, The House of Songs is a 501(c)3 that invites songwriters from around the world to the United States to share the universal language of music in collaborations designed to bridge cultures, build friendships and cultivate peace.

Inspired by a collaboration between Troy Campbell and Poul Krebs, the House was envisioned at a writer's retreat on the Danish island Samsø, aka Song Island. In 2009, they started a one-year project to bring Danish artists to Austin. Recognizing music provides a conduit for connecting diverse cultures together, Campbell developed a plan to spread the concept to other parts of the world. The House of Songs has since sponsored collaborations in 33 countries and now operates out of Austin and Bentonville, Arkansas, where the second permanent location, The House of Songs Ozarks, opened in September 2017 with support from The Walton Family Foundation.

In 2018, The House of Songs began partnering with ArtSpace in New York City, a nonprofit focused on providing affordable and sustainable spaces for artists and art organizations. We now host international musicians touring through New York as part of our artist-in-residency programs. In 2019, The House of Songs began expanding our reach to other Texas cities; showcasing international musicians, dancers and artists in Fort Worth, TX in partnership with the Bass Family.

Through our Songwriter Summits, The House of Songs brings together musicians from Texas, Bentonville and international countries to live and work together in at our songwriter camps; collaborating on new works, performing and recording materials to be presented at International Songwriter festivals including AmericanaFest, Folk Alliance International, and AmericanaFest UK.

House participants have had internationally charted songs, earned Grammy nominations and festival headlining slots and build lifelong bonds with musicians and fans. Envisioning international collaboration as the driving force for the future, The House of Songs continues to use music to open dialogues and build understanding and, ideally, global harmony.

Left to right: The House of Songs Director of Artistic Management Graham Weber (Western Youth), Eric Tessmer, Nick Diaz (Buenos Diaz), Kalu James (Kalu and The Electric Joint), Jai Malano, Certified Ableton Instructor Alberto Chapa, Ley Line (Kate Robberson, Emilie Basez, Madeleine Froncek), William Harris Graham, Marie Claire (Shy Beast), Kenneth Frost (The Cuckoos), JuJuan "Jazz" Sanabria, Jane Ellen Bryant, Carrie Fussell (Calliope Musicals), Kydd Jones, Gina Chavez, The Thaden School's Ian Heung